Calgary Duplicate Bridge Association Annual General Meeting West Hillhurst Go-Getters Club Saturday, May 8th, 2010 5:30 p.m.

1. Welcome and Introduction

President Marlene Lenstra called the meeting to order at 5:37 pm. She thanked everybody for coming and remarked on the great turnout.

2. Approval of Agenda

It was moved by Doris Fishman and seconded by Janet Dunbar that the agenda for the May 8^{th} agenda be approved as submitted. Motion carried.

3. Minutes of last AGM

The Minutes of the May 29, 2009 Calgary Duplicate Bridge Association were available on all tables. Frank Lane moved that the minutes from the May 2009 Annual General Meeting be accepted as presented and this was seconded by Elaine Stewart. Motion Carried.

4. President's Report

Marlene read her President's report (Attachment 1). Moved by Frank Kelton, and seconded by Melissa Martin that the president's report be accepted. Motion carried.

5. Treasurer's Report

The treasurer's report was available at all tables. (Attachment 2). Garth Wiggins explained a few line items from the statement.

Question from the floor. Margaret Cooke asked why it was decided to segregate funds for the special fund for a separate building or bridge centre. Garth gave a brief history, explanation and clarification. Brenda Bertrand asked: "With regards to funds available for the Regionals, it was her understanding that Trish Biggs went to the unit to ask for \$500 and was denied." She wanted to know why this request was not granted. Steve Lawrence replied that the fund had a cushion of \$7,000 from previous Regionals. The unit stated that that fund should be used first, and if the team still needed funds, they could certainly come back to the unit for more funding.

Murray Haggins moved that the Treasurer's report be accepted and the motion was seconded by Terry Bedard. Motion Carried.

6. Appointment of auditors for 2010-2011

Moved by Garth Wiggins that Doris Fishman be the designated auditor of the unit. This was seconded by Martin MacDonald. Motion carried.

7. Special Resolution on 'Member Approved Bylaws'

Marlene spoke on the current status of the bylaws for our unit. Because the bylaws from 2005 were never sent in to Edmonton to be registered, the unit feels it would be best to re-approve them and send them in. Thus these bylaws can be used as a starting point for review for new bylaws in the future. Don Basarsky has volunteered to set up a committee to re-work these bylaws so that they are appropriate for 2010. Ken Scott made a motion to revert and approve the 2005 bylaws as a starting point for bylaws to be used by the association. Carol Lee Bellam seconded the motion. Motion carried by majority.

8. Mini-McKenney and Ace of Clubs Awards

Marlene passed out the certificates for the 2009 Ace of Clubs awards and medallions to the winner of the 2000 Mini-McKenney Races. They are as follows:

Ace of Clubs
0-5 Emelie Quennell
20-50 Lorna Smith
20-50 Jackie Chin

50-100 Byron Lund

100-200 Marilyn Haggins

200-300 Patrick Murphy

300-500 Janet Sharpe

500-100 Maged Wafa

1000-2500 Abdhul Fakih

2500-5000 Elaine Stewart

5000 - 7500 Stephen Lawrence

7500 - 10000 Gerry Marshall

Mini-McKenney

0-5 Gordon Vance

5-20 Lorna Smith

20-50 John Sharpe

50-100 Byron Lund

100-200 Marilyn Haggins

200-300 Patrick Murphy

300-500 Janet Sharpe

500-1000 Diane Campbell

1000-2500 Abdul Fakih

2500-5000 Allan Simon

5000-7500 Steve Lawrence

7500 - 10000 Gerry Marshall

9. Presentation of new 2010-11 Unit Board - Jim Murphy

Jim Murphy took the floor. While Vice President, Jim took on the task of finding volunteers for the vacant board positions on the 2010-2011 board.

He reported that on March 22/2010 the following people were appointed to the board.

Frank Kelton - Information Officer (a new position)

Emelie Quennell - Secretary

Melissa Martin - Special Events

Brian Willett - Membership

Starting immediately (if approved)
Nancy Stewart - Tournaments
Don Basarksy - Vice President

And three members staying on the board Jan McLeod - Future Masters Garth Wiggins - Treasurer Jim Murphy - President

It was then moved by Joy Saville that the new board members be accepted as elected, which was seconded by Gail Bews. This was unanimously carried.

Jim thanked the outgoing board members for their volunteerism and hard work. He also thanked Carol Lee Bellam and her committee; Martin who acts as librarian; Judy and Nick Gartaganis for publishing the Kibitzer; Clarende Duby for being Caddymaster; Linda Wallace for New Member Liaison; Allan Simon for Ethics & Conduct; Freda Nychkalo for her long time contribution to education and finally to Merle Hickey as webmaster. He also thanked Ken Scott, our district 18 representative.

10. Adjournment

Ross MacLean moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:30 pm. Jim Berglund seconded the motion and it was unanimously carried.